My Blog Sucks… and that’s ok

I have no idea whatsoever what I’m doing when it comes to this social media thing. I intentionally dropped off the face of the virtual reality world a few years ago for personal reasons before I ever learned about tags much less #hashtags.

But that’s okay.

Because I’m slowly learning. S L O W L Y

My major focus is right now is the hands on creative projects I’m upcycling. Most of my first projects are going to be gifts to my family so I haven’t posted much on the subject. However, I do have a few badly photographed pics of what I’m doing.

A scarf I made from a recycled tshirt

A scarf I made from a recycled tshirt

This thin scarf-necklace was alot of fun to make. I didn’t take any before pictures of the shirt because I made this before I decided to start the blog. When I make another I will do a post about it.

WP_20141018_003WP_20141020_001WP_20141020_002

This is a work in progress using recycled magazine pages and a lot of patience. I saw some folded paper projects on pinterest that inspired me to try some experimentation. I’m making a lot of these coils and then trying different finishes and treatments of them. I’ll (again) update you on what I figure out that actually works and what doesn’t. (Spoiler: the scotch tape method soooo does not work)

I’m also working on T-shirt Rag Rugs. Google em… they’re adorable. But since I’m working off of solely donated recycled materials I have only short stacks of similarly colored t-shirts waiting for more matching or at least coordinating materials before I start butchering the fabrics. I don’t want to limit the possibilities of an upcycleable until I know I have enough to finish the project. I’m not trying to create more waste. #counterproductive 

See what I did there, hahaha. I guess it would matter more if I were actually on twitter. It will happen, just

S    L    O   W    L    Y

Thanks for stopping by! If you have any comments, suggestions or mad ramblings you want to send my way, feel free. I’ll probably just try to upcycle that too…

Lucy

Leave a Reply

