What Would Bill Murray Do? Part Two

If you missed part one of this story, quick, read it here, catch up!

The Quints, the golf clubs, I have to tell you are in pretty bad shape. The shafts are straight and the grips are all good except one, but the full head, soles, toes and faces all looked like they had been doing demolition work on a rock wall. Before I hooked up with Bill Murray on this journey my research came up with beautiful upcycles for the clubs with acceptable heads. Here’s a few examples of applied creativity and craftsmanship in upcycling:

Etsy artist millesimedesigns used reclaimed wood and vintage golf clubs to create this charming coat rack

Another Etsy artist, TheLuckyDuckClub, crafts these beauties from reclaimed wooden golf clubs

Another Etsy artist, TheLuckyDuckClub, crafts these beauties from reclaimed wooden golf clubs

This is on Etsy too from Junkfx

This is on Etsy too from Junkfx

Oh how I wish I knew how to do metal work. This would be an amazing piece of yard art for a golfer! It’s not for sale, I just found it on pinterest and loved it.

Oh how I wish I knew how to do metal work. This would be an amazing piece of yard art for a golfer! It’s not for sale, I just found it on pinterest and loved it.

None of these lovely ideas fit the Quints, but I found a large number of people using golf clubs in gardens to support young trees or as plant stakes. I made a few phone calls to locate some local gardens but hadn’t heard back yet. But now with Bill Murray as my wingman, I wasn’t going to let that stop me from trying a little harder.

So the first leg of our journey took us to The City of Plano Community Gardens. Bill and I drove up ready to rock the Quints into an organic garden home. Sadly, they were closed that day.

Not ready to be defeated, I climbed back in the car and drove around the municipal area looking for signs of life. We found something very interesting… A Household Chemical Recycling and Sharing Center. They were closed too, but I had no idea this even existed. I will definitely have to check back into this. Bill Murray wasn’t too excited about the idea. He was mumbling something about “Who ya’ gonna call?” and that “They always say it’s going to be an easy pick up.” I think Bill might have been drinking a little when I wasn’t looking.

No Thanks, Lucy. Been there, done that and got the t shirt.

No Thanks, Lucy. Been there, done that and got the t-shirt.

I felt like Bill could use a little fresh air and there was one more stop nearby that I wanted to check out. I hoped they might have some coffee for Bill too. So I took a detour on our journey to upcycle the Quints by pulling into the parking lot next door which just happened to be the City of Plano Animal Shelter. Hee Hee, Bill Murray was not thrilled.

To Be Continued

Be sure to come back and find out what the heck happened!

Leave a Reply

