Faux Taxidermy: The space in home decor where lodge style meets Hogwarts

Apparently Harry Potter has so affected the psyche of pop culture that droves of trendy home-fashionistas had no idea they were placing Patronus Charms in their homes. Honestly, I’m a bit of a Potterhead myself, but I never made the connection until today when I saw this Expecto Patronum t-shirt tutorial.

The post was from July 2011, the same month the final movie of the Harry Potter series was released. Fall the same year brought us Faux Taxidermy as the hot new trend in home decor. It was everywhere – Anthropologie, Pottery Barn and adorable little upscale boutiques all over the country. Coincidence? I think not!

How the crap did I not notice the connection until now?? How has no one I know pointed this out to me? I can’t be the only one to have noticed it!?

Before today, I viewed this trend as a response to the societal shift away from inhumane treatment of animals. I mean I would way rather have a resin or paper mache deer head on my wall than real dead animal parts.

But now my eyes are open – Because the crafters, all the little maker elves in the blogiverse, don’t jump on crafty bandwagons without there being an element of whimsy, even if the whimsy is subconscious. And I’m just gonna go ahead and say it: We’ve been some Patronus-Charm-casting fools and didn’t even know it.

Deer Head Dictionary art print, 8x10 Floral Deer Wall Art, Dictionary Paper print, illustration Vintage Book Print Wall Decal, Wall decor

If you’re a crafter of faux taxidermy or a product following that trend, I challenge you to go look at your deer head again with this new insight. I bet you suddenly see a Patronus Charm.

I did find what I think may be the exception to my Patronus theory though, I’m calling it the Disney Shift. This crafty tutorial calls for decapitating gold foil craft store reindeer as the quick route to faux taxidermy.

I have to admit I love the finished project. But I can’t help but wonder, as the upcycler I am, what she did with the headless gold foil deer bodies afterwards? It makes me a little sad, like the first time I watched Bambi…  and Boom! That’s the Disney Shift.

So what do you think? Are you a Patronus Charm Caster or part of the Disney Shift? Don’t be shy, let me know in the comments. I am truly curious!

Leave a Reply

